How to transcribe chord voicings for piano and guitar?

Home Ear Training Forums Ear Training Playing By Ear How to transcribe chord voicings for piano and guitar?

Tagged: 

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of christopher-sutton christopher-sutton 9 years ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of blanche_minim-2
    blanche_minim-2
    Participant

I am taking Jazz Piano lessons at York University and my teacher and I are also doing ear training in my music lesson. My assignment is to transcribe “My Romance” by Ella Fitzgerald and “Barbados” by Charlie Parker. He expects me not to just transcribe the melody, but to know the chord voicings by ear. I am not getting marked on it, but it’s something I would love to do for the rest of my life. I have no experience transcribing chord voicings. It’s something I have never done before. Is there a step-by-step procedure to transcribe it systematically?

Profile photo of blanche_minim-2
    blanche_minim-2
    Participant

Hi Chris,
    I think you know the answer to my question about transcribing chord voicings.
    Thanks,
    Jason

Hi @blanche_minim-2,

There’s no magic to transcribing chord voicings, so the usual advice on transcription ear training applies.

There are a few different ways to approach it:

1. Think in chords. On the guitar different voicings means different fretboard shapes, and you can learn to recognise their different characteristic sounds. On the piano there are too many different possible voicings to recognise each directly but similarly, you can learn to recognise the inversions of each chord and whether it is in “open” or “close” voicing.